L. Murugan appointed president of Tamil Nadu BJP

March 11, 2020

L. Murugan appointed president of Tamil Nadu BJP

After over seven months, the Tamil Nadu unit of the BJP has finally got its president. On Wednesday, as the entire country was discussing Jyotiraditya Scindia joining the BJP, the party's Tamil Nadu unit was all in surprise. The party high command appointed L. Murugan, vice-chairman of the National Commission for Scheduled Castes (NCSC), the new state president.
In a statement issued on Wednesday, BJP president J.P. Nadda said that Murugan’s appointment will come into effect immediately. While there were several names of senior leaders like H. Raja, Muruganandham, Nainar Nagendran and Vanathi Srinivasan, the high command appointing Murugan as the president has come as a surprise for the many factions within the TN BJP unit. 
It was in September 2019, the then president, Tamilisai Soundararajan, was elevated as the Governor of Telegana. Since then, the president post had been lying vacant. Because of the tight race and the growing differences within the factions in the Tamil Nadu unit, the appointment was delayed. 
Murugan, a practicing lawyer at the Madras High Court, has got his masters in international law from the University of Madras. Born in 1977, Murugan also holds a Post Graduate diploma in intellectual property rights. It may be recalled that Murugan played an important role as the NCSC vice chairman recently, as he asked the police to probe the love jihad angle in the killing of dalit BJP functionary Vijay Raghu in Trichy in January. While the police called it personal enmity, Murugan said that the accused had made desperate efforts to secure the hands of his daughter and it was the outcome of love jihad. 
After S.P. Kirubanidhi, L. Murugan is the second dalit president of the BJP in Tamil Nadu. Murugan’s appointment is significant as it is after a gap of many years that the national party has chosen a dalit face. 


Post a Comment


Author Name


தொடர்பு படிவம்


Email *

Message *

Powered by Blogger.