20 Naval Pilots Awarded Wings at INS Rajali

 20 Naval Pilots Awarded Wings at INS Rajali


A special Passing-Out-Parade was held at INS Rajali, the Naval Air Station Arakkonam, to mark the graduation of the 97 Helicopter Conversion Course (HCC) today, 10 Dec 21 following COVID protocols.  Twenty officers of the Indian Navy were awarded the prestigious “Wings” by Rear Admiral Philipose G Pynumootil, AVSM, VSM, NM Flag Officer Commanding Goa Area and Flag Officer Naval Aviation. 

The officers of 97 HCC underwent rigorous flying and ground training for 22 weeks commenced Jul 21 at the Indian Naval Air Squadron 561, also known as the Helicopter Training School (HTS)  adhering to all safety and social distancing norms. 97 HCC has the unique distinction of being the largest course to date to undergo Course at HTS and by methodical planning and execution, resulting in time bound completion. 

During the course, the trainee pilots are introduced to several nuances of helicopter flying. The pilots undergo a challenging syllabus which includes navigation, night flying and operating over the sea. At the end of the course, the trainees are adjudged for Best in Flying, Best in Ground Subjects and Best in Overall Order of Merit.

The Flag Officer Commanding-in-Chief, Eastern Naval Command Rolling Trophy for the trainee pilot standing first in order of merit in Flying was awarded to Lieutenant Varun Singh. 

The Sub Lieutenant Kunte Memorial Book Prize for standing first in order of merit in ground subjects was awarded to Lieutenant Amit Sangwan. The Governor of Kerala Rolling Trophy for standing first in overall order of merit was awarded to Lieutenant Amit Sangwan.

Additionally, Lieutenant Amit Sangawan of 95 HCC was awarded with the CNS Bronze medal for standing third in overall order of merit and  the sword of honour for scoring highest OLQ in overall order of merit in Sub Lieutenant afloat phase. He was also awarded with the CNS trophy for standing first in Sub Lieutenant X technical courses and Admiral Ramdas Katari trophy with silver medal for standing first in overall order of merit from induction till completion of Sub Lieutenant X Technical courses.

Lieutenant Anmol Agrahari was awarded with FOC-IN-C south trophy for standing second in Sub Lieutenant Technical courses. These awards were not presented to the officers at Kochi view COVID restrictions. The newly qualified pilots will be appointed to various front-line operational units of the Indian Navy where they will take on varied missions such as Reconnaissance, Surveillance, SAR and Anti-Piracy Patrols.

In its rich heritage spanning almost five decades, HTS has trained to date over 759 pilots of the Indian Navy, Coast Guard as well as friendly foreign nations. The squadron has celebrated its Golden Jubilee on 15 Sep 2021.




Author Name


தொடர்பு படிவம்


மின்னஞ்சல் *

செய்தி *

Blogger இயக்குவது.